42nd Gawad Urian Winners

BuyBust won Best Picture yesterday, June 18, during the 42nd Gawad Urian ceremony held at the University of the Philippines Film Institute.

READ: 42nd Gawad Urian Nominees Released

Veteran actor Eddie Garcia won the Best Actor award for his role in the film ML, while Nadine Lustre won Best Actress for the movie Never Not Love You.

Garcia and Lustre were both unable to attend the awards night. The actors’ representatives delivered messages on their behalf. Garcia is still in a comatose state after figuring in an accident while taping Rosang Agimat last June 8.

Director Joel Lamangan won Best Supporting Actor for the film School Service, while Cherie Gil won the Best Supporting Actress award for the movie Citizen Jake.

Veteran actress Gloria Sevilla was recognized by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino for her contribution in Philippine cinema. Sevilla’s career started in Visayan films.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture
Buy Bust (Vic Del Rosario Jr., et.al.)

Best Director
Denise O’Hara (Mamang)

Best Actress
Nadine Lustre (Never Not Love You)

Best Actor
Eddie Garcia (ML)

Best Supporting Actress
Cherie Gil (Citizen Jake)

Best Supporting Actor
Joel Lamangan (School Service)

Best Screenplay
Rody Vera (Signal Rock)

Best Production Design
Michael Espanol & Roma Regala (Buy Bust)

Best Cinematography
Neil Bion (Buy Bust)

Best Editing
May-i Guia Padilla (Tanabata’s Wife)

Best Music
Malek Lopez & Erwin Romulo (Buy Bust)

Best Sound
Malek Lopez & Erwin Romulo (Never Tear Us Apart)

Best Documentary
Jewel Maranan (Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang)

Best Shortfilm
Shaira Advincula (Tembong / Connecting)

Natatanging Gawad Urian
Gloria Sevilla

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *